Home > All, Blogs, Politics, Security Issues > T-Mobile blocks ‘Slightly Right of Centre’

T-Mobile blocks ‘Slightly Right of Centre’

Talk about the irony!

I was away from the office. Access to the internet was only via T-Mobile. But I was reading a fascinating but frightening blog by the well-known terrorist, James Firth, CEO of the Open Digital Policy Organization. I urge you to do the same: Premier League joins group lobbying for web blocking, proposing confused “voluntary” scheme – overseen by the courts

It describes another typically secretive attempt to persuade government to instigate internet blocking on behalf of rightsholders. The irony? Up pops a little message from T-Mobile: “The website you are trying to access is blocked by Content Lock as it contains content that is unsuitable for under 18s.”

Content Lock

T-Mobile's Content Lock censorship tool

Me? Under 18?

I didn’t ask for this. I certainly didn’t pay for it. I am not under 18. And I don’t use credit cards. So, basically, I’m stuffed by T-Mobile – who, once this subscription runs out, I shall never use again.

But it does show the danger of these ‘voluntary’ blocking schemes, by whomever, for whatever: they will be used for censorship, and there will be nothing we can do about them. So we simply mustn’t allow them.

  1. June 23, 2011 at 9:39 am | #1

    Wow, thanks, and GRRRRR… That’s my blog they’re blocking. V annoyed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers