Home > All, Security Issues > Cloud Computing and smartphones are the future of personal computing

Cloud Computing and smartphones are the future of personal computing

Sadly, we lost Guy Kewney earlier this year. He was possibly the best technical journalist of the PC era, and one of the finest and most generous intellects I have known. Two years ago he told me that early in his career he had witnessed the rise and dominance of the personal computer. Now, he said, he was seeing its decline. “Why should I be shackled by a great big box on a desk,” he asked me, “when I can do everything I need, anywhere, anytime, on my smartphone?”

I thought he was wrong. I saw the future of computing in the cloud. But he wasn’t wrong. And, well, neither was I. It is the combination of the two that will define the future of information technology. Data and power and the more sophisticated applications will be in the cloud. Use of that data will be via apps on your smartphone.

All we need now is the switch from keyboard/pad input to simple voice and we’re there.

I just wish Guy was still with us to see his prediction come true.

Categories: All, Security Issues
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

