Home > All, Security Issues, Security News > Abine for Mozilla Firefox 0.523. Go get it. Now!

Abine for Mozilla Firefox 0.523. Go get it. Now!

Some things are good. Some things are very good. Some things are very, very good. But this is better.

You may have noticed that I am paranoid about my privacy. It is for me to give away; not for others to take without my knowledge. The problem is that when out surfing, they tend to just take it. And I want to know who takes what.

That’s why this is so very good. It is Abine for Mozilla Firefox 0.523. It’s an add-on. And it’s free.

This morning Firefox updated it for me. I’d forgotten I’d even installed it – just to opt out of targeted advertising I think. But now it does so very much more. I started noticing discreet little pop-ups at the bottom of the browser window whenever I opened a new page. They stayed for a few moments (just long enough to read) and then they faded away.

Here’s a sample:

pop-up information screen

This one is innocuous – I happened to be at Graham Cluley’s blog, so you’d expect him to be nice. But you should see how many tracking sites and ad networks that sometimes show up! I remembered the Firefox update when I logged on, and checked the add-ons to find out who was giving me this useful information. It could only be Taco 3.0 with Abine. The Preferences option let me explore a bit further. I found the button top-right of my browser, and explored!

It is, quite simply, packed full of options to protect your online privacy. I’m not going to bore you with everything right now; just look at this:

Look at the info! Look at the options! (This is hotmail)

So, as you might expect: if you’ve got Firefox and you haven’t got this, you’re being just a tad silly.

Abine for Mozilla Firefox 0.523

  1. Richard Golden
    December 7, 2010 at 2:43 am

    I am trying to find out how to stop abine from blocking a site that I wanted to download.The name of the program is WeatherBlink.

    Like

  2. Brian
    June 17, 2010 at 1:20 am

    lol, if you value your privacy, why are you using this then? Ghostery + NoScript is all you need.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

