Home > All, Security Issues > Beware: www.hmrc.gov.uk is a phisher!

Beware: www.hmrc.gov.uk is a phisher!

September 14, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve said it before, but it’s worth saying again: government is the biggest identity thief. And I’m so glad that I’m not alone in thinking this. VirusBarrier, the anti-malware product I use on Mac, agrees. It detected Her Majesty’s Revenue and Customs as a phishing site.

Sadly, the window saying this disappeared before I was able to ‘grab’ it. But good old VirusBarrier just blocked the page anyway.

HMRC phish

HMRC is a phishing site...

Beware: http://www.hmrc.gov.uk is a phisher!

Categories: All, Security Issues
  1. September 14, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    VirusBarrier may have caught something like this: http://www.scmagazineus.com/a-taxing-business/article/211384/. But you have a point anyway.🙂

    Like

    • September 14, 2011 at 3:28 pm

      Hmmm – I think it’s time to double-check my system with the Sophos AV. What I’m hoping is that it’s something to do with typical bureaucratic madness. I needed some information. It was provided via an online form (PDF). But you have to download the form in order to complete it. You can’t read it in Preview, but have to do so in Adobe Reader. And you can’t print the form without filling it in. So it’s got some unusual stuff in it. It’s possible that VirusBarrier noticed this unusual stuff and warned me about it. Or, I suppose, it’s possible that it contains some unusual nasty stuff which I have now downloaded…

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

