Home > All, Security Issues > The problem with security paranoia is that you miss all those wonderful free offers…

The problem with security paranoia is that you miss all those wonderful free offers…

November 14, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

The problem with being a paranoid conspiracy-freak (which, of course, I deny) is that I see security threats round every corner and at every junction. For example, is there currently a sophisticated Sky phishing campaign going on? I got the following email:

sky

incompetence or phishing?

There is a reason I haven’t used this email address: I don’t have a Sky account. When Barclay’s and Halifax tell me there’s a problem with an account I don’t have, I’m pretty certain it’s a scam. Why should Sky be any different?

Or is it just incompetence from Sky? I very nearly did have a Sky account. I tried to have a Sky account. In fact on three occasions I expected to get a Sky account – but each time they went to a different address to install it. After that I gave up. Given that initial incompetence, this could also be incompetence. Or phishing.

And how about this one?

avira

Genuine promotional offer

If anybody ever says I qualify for something free, I run a mile. And this one just reeks of a scam. But it isn’t. This is an Avira advert, and I qualify to receive the promotional offer because I avail myself of Avira’s free AV.

So what to do? Abandon my paranoia? Certainly not since this is clearly a conspiracy to make me do so. But maybe I need to temper that paranoia just a little in case I miss a genuine opportunity. Maybe that lottery win is genuine after all…

Categories: All, Security Issues
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

