Home > All, General Rants, Security Issues > A lament on the passing of independent news – not quite dead, but certainly dying

A lament on the passing of independent news – not quite dead, but certainly dying

February 7, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Before I say anything else, let me just say that I really, really like Sophos; and I really, really like NakedSecurity; and I really, really like Graham Cluley. This is really, really just a comment on how the internet has upset the status quo rather than a criticism of any of the above.

But…

Purely coincidentally I was talking to a fellow freelancer who, like me, is old enough to remember the golden, halcyon days of freelancing back in the mists of the last century. The internet has destroyed all that, along with the majority of magazines I used to write for for whom I used to write.

“Today,” I said, “company blogs have replaced independent magazines. Just take NakedSecurity, which competes head on with the security magazines in terms of content.”

I stand by that. It’s a great blog and a great read written by experts in their subject. But the one thing it isn’t is ‘independent’.

Consider one of today’s news items: Microsoft and Symantec jointly took down the Bamital botnet (my news story is on Infosecurity Mag here). The problem is that Symantec, a direct competitor of Sophos, gets hardly a look-in on the Sophos blog – which is headlined: Bamital botnet dismantled, as Microsoft seizes control of malware servers.

spacer

sophos

spacer

In fact, you wouldn’t think that Symantec was involved in the actual takedown at all judging from the Sophos account – despite the fact that it published an excellent and detailed analysis of Bamital today.

Coincidence? Possibly; but I doubt it. The problem is that NakedSecurity is so good and so popular that it is often taken as news. It isn’t. It’s a marketing machine for Sophos – and readers should always bear in mind (not just for NakedSecurity, but for all of the company blogs that are replacing the magazines) that the one thing you cannot get from a company blog is independent news.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

