Home > All > Targeted advertising? Bollocks

Targeted advertising? Bollocks

December 24, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

I have come to the conclusion that all of this targeted advertising is a load of bollocks, and Google’s ability to grab, store and analyse my personal habits is worthless.

Android has just recommended a Coldplay album, which it says is ‘popular with similar listeners’.

  1. I had to use Wikipedia to find out what Coldplay is
  2. I have never knowingly listened to Coldplay; and don’t intend to
  3. I have never listened to any music via Android (apart from a few accidental YouTubes where I have never succeeded in listening to completion).

OK, so they got that wrong.

But maybe it’s other people who are similar to me who like Coldplay… No, that’s no good either, because that means that I’m like people who like Coldplay — and that, frankly (no disrespect) is insulting.

So this ‘targeting’ is way off beam. Which means it’s simple old-fashioned promotional advertising. I just hope for Coldplay’s sake they aren’t paying over the odds for targeting that doesn’t exist.

Categories: All
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

